Books

“I’m sorry Malia, but we can’t meet up anymore.”

Malia smiles and takes a drag from her cigarette. “You know, that’s not the first time you’ve said that.”

“Yeah, I know.” Ray’s eyes lower to the ground. “It’s just that Julie got into my email. She read our messages to each other and… Look, as much as I would love to pursue this with you I need to—“

“Stop, Ray. Just stop. I don’t want to hear your crap. You’re so full of shit. You don’t know what you want. You don’t even know what love is.”

“Yes, I do.”

“Oh really? Hah, well, love requires trust and communication and obviously you and Julie don’t have that.”

Ray stays quiet. A car passes as Malia flicks her cigarette into the street. She picks up her mug, downs the rest of her coffee, then stands. She opens up her bag and starts to dig around looking for something.

“I guess it’s a good thing I brought these back then. Your books. Thanks for letting me borrow them.”

“Yeah, no problem.”

“Well then, goodbye.”

Ray solemnly watches Malia as she turns to leave. He doesn’t stop her.

“Bye…”

One thought on “Books

Leave a comment